Skip to main navigation.

Board of Directors

Sussex Rural Electric Cooperative is a unique form of electric utility in several ways. A key way is that your Board of Directors must be members themselves or they cannot serve. Our service area is split into three districts (Board Districts Map) with three directors per district. Each director serves a three year term with 1/3 of the directors standing for re-election every year. Elections of Board members are held by mail-in ballot as described for in the Bylaws

Qualifications and nominations for a Director of Sussex Rural Electric Cooperative are documented in Article IV Section 3 and Section 4 of our corporate bylaws. There are many questions that potential candidates may have regarding running for a SREC board position. Click here for more information about the director’s role.  

District 1 Board Members

Placeholder Image

Jack Haggerty, Jr., Chairman
Elected: 1981

Placeholder Image

Thomas E. Madsen
Elected: 2000

Brad Sparta

Elected: 2016

District 2 Board Members

Placeholder Image

William Kovach, Vice-Chairman
Elected: 2000

Ronald Dupont
Elected: 2008


District 3 Board Members

Raymond W. Cordts, Secretary/Treasurer
Elected: 1995

Barbara Miller
Elected: 2006

Michael G. Hopkins

Appointed: 2017

Placeholder Image

Chris Reese

President & CEO

Contact the CEO:. Email

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo